CWD, thoughts?

hossblur

Long Time Member
I was listening to Meateater podcast the other day. Steve had on a scientist from USGS whose speciality is wildlife disease. Super fascinating and scary subject.

I hunt in Utah so its not been a hot topic but as my midgets are hitting 12 soon we are branching out next year.

So. Do you guys that hunt Col., Wyoming, etc test your critters?

If you got back a positive would you still eat it?

I have a degree in Microbiolgy(moms been real proud how I didn't use it), so how its spread, what it does part was pretty cool.

Just curious what some of u all think.

"The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun"

There has been a tight focus in my state over the last few years regarding CWD.

Recently I saw a document which was showing, based on recent research with primates, the CDC is advising people to not eat meat from CWD positive animals. They are also advising not to have meat processed by a commercial processor that can not guarantee separation of individual deer during the processing of animals. If that is not possible they are advising you process your own meat from cervids.

Much of the scientific community now believes that although there are no confirmed cases of CWD within humans, that infection is highly possible. Many of the scientists are already talking about how we actually locate infected humans. I have also read a document that stated they now believe out of the individuals in North America which consume deer meet they believe around %20 of that population has consumed deer meat with CWD prions in it.

Two days ago I had a conversation with a close friend who is involved both politically and scientifically with battling this disease. His blatantly told me we are 20 years to late in dealing with the disease the way we should have, and over the next twenty years we are going to see drastic changes in big game hunting because of it.