Colorado Mule Deer

Texashunter36

Hi, new member here and I figured this may be a shot in the dark but I’m new to this whole western states thing and have ALOT of info to decipher. I’m interested in hunting Colorado for mule deer (rifle) and wondering where I should start as far as units go? Personally, Im ok with never getting drawn for a “trophy” unit and just hunting in units where you may or may not get lucky but see deer, if that makes any sense? I don’t plan on saving up 20 years of points to go on one hunt in other words. I just wanna go hunt. My Dads not getting any younger and he used to hunt the western states stuff a lot in the 80’s/90’s so I’m just looking to get to go hunting with him up there a few times in the next 5-10 years. I realize the public land stuff can be very hush hush and I totally understand why (I’m big into public land duck hunting here in Texas) so I appreciate any info y’all can help me out with. Not looking for your secrets spots, just a place to get started.

Thanks!

Start at the links below. Identify some hunts (most likely 2nd season in most units) that take 0 or 1 points, and then begin narrowing them down. Try to find a few on the western side of the state. I could be of some help, but I have no idea what hunts take 0-1 point.
Once you have a handful that you could actually draw, then maybe dig into buck-to-doe ratios and herd numbers.
Once you have a few hunt ideas, then it's easier to get a little advice.
Unit 35 2nd is fairly easy to draw. There are a few deer there. It's a place to consider, along with numerous others.

(PS - Offering to "exchange" information with others will also get you much farther in todays world of hunt information sharing.)