cleaning your engine

eelgrass

Long Time Member
I've never done it before, but I would like to clean the engine compartment of my truck. I don't have any oil leaks....just dusty dirty. The thought of running a bunch of water under the hood is kind of weird/scary.

How is the best way to do it? Thanks.

Eel

it's not a 40 incher but it's closer than the last 40 incher you posted....

JB

What year and type of car?

I had an old 69 and a 72 chev truck that I always threw a towel over the distributor cap, then went to town on the rest with a high pressure hose at the car wash, gotta be careful not to get any moisture in the distributor cap though or it won't start till you dry it out.

Now I have a 2010 tundra, just pop the hood and spray away. Not going to hurt a thing.

Get it up over 55 mph and it will blow some of the carbon build up from the inside too.
4abc76ff29b26fc1.jpg

Take it to a detail shop!

http://i130.photobucket.com/albums/p248/nv_hunter/nevadaanimatedhelmetwd2.gif[/IMG]

Well Eel!

There's a couple ways to clear the Dust!

1:Just keep up with others in the Mormon 500!:D

2:Make sure engine is Fully up to Temp as you pull in to the car wash,Wash the Distributor cap first with lots of cold water,make sure your Cell Phone is working & Call Rans or CUPSY to come rescue you!:D

Dust will be gone!

God is Great!
Life is Good!
And People are Crazy!
I love not acting my age,
Damn I love my NASCAR race,
And Hell yes I love my Truck!
And a good BBQ!
I am Medicine And I am Poison!

It's a 2003 Tacoma. I tried blowing it off with my compressor....it's kind of sticky dust. It hasn't been cleaned since I bought it new.

Keep up with the Mormon 500?? ARE YOU NUT'S??:)

nickman, what did the wife say?

Eel

JB

Eel!

You can buy some engine cleaner made by GUNK and other brands that comes in an aerosol can,kinda goes on as a foam,let it sit for a while & then rinse off!

You're in KALI damn it!