Building Knives

R

rodsroost

.Thinking about trying to restore some old hunting knives.I would appreciate any helpful instructions and comments on this.I am cutting some old elk antlers for the handles.After they are fitted to the knife,is there some type of stain or oil or compound used on the antler to make it shine?Next question,is there anyway to get older used blades to shine and get rid of the pock marks on the steel?Thanks(ROD)

I am not an expert, but I love my knives and try to keep them in good shape. Takes a little work sometimes, but if you want to depend on them on the mountain care is necessary.

If I was rebuilding a knife, putting on new handles, etc. I would consult a local knifemaker. Most will share ideas.
As far as keeping the knife blades from staining, rusting and spotting, I like to use two different products. "Happich Simichrome Polish", A paste that does a great job. Also,Blue Magic Liquid metal polish works well on certain types of stains on the blades. Keep your knives clean, wash away blood immediately and do not leave knives in leather sheaths after the hunt. Remove them, treat them after cleaning with a good gun oil and store them in a dry place. Sometimes I have to remind myself to get my knives out of my day pack and treat them after hunting season. I carry two or three knives and a diamond sharpening rod I bought from Cabelas that works like a dream. There is nothing a dissappointing as pulling a knife out to gut and skin your Bull and find it is dull and in poor shape. I take care of my knives just as well as I care for my firearms...it pays big dividends!

TM