big horn scoring?

F

feyerfighter

saw these guys on the arizona strip last spring was wondering if they are big, average, small? i don't know much about them.
4b0b65434b7c4a05.jpg

4b0b65a24e0993eb.jpg

Nice pics not sure on the score but wow, looks like there headed in the right direction for growth.

I don't know for the area, but I don't think any of them will score more than 165, so I would say average.

what makes a ram score well? i know tine length accounts for the most with mule deer. i know that rams have length, mass, and spread measurements, but what counts the most. thanks for the answers.

As for sheep you only get the length and mass measurements every 1/4. There is no spread credit and there is no deduction between the horn lengths for the net score. I am no expert but I have learned a lot from some very seasoned sheep hunters. To get a book ram you have to have it all: big bases 14"+, carries mass throught the length, and long horns 35"+.

cool. thanks for the info, hopefully i can find some bigger ones this year.

I would say they are average.

You want a large donut hole with the curl dropping at or below the jawline. Another good thing to look at is the gap between the horns on top of their head. The less the space, the more the mass, generally speaking.

If you find a ram with a big donut hole, a curl that drops below the jaw, and one strand of hair between the horns on top of his head, you got a surefire shooter.

The ram on the right looks to be about a 155-160" ram, IMHO! He's a good solid shooter in MOST areas and WELL above the average ram harvested!
Some of the comments have been just a little off base (sorry). You DO get a deduction for any difference, this includes horn length (for the net score).
One of the comments was 14"+ X 35"+ ram is a book ram. Here's the math on a ram like that; 35+14+13.5+11+8x2=163". It takes 168" to "book" a desert ram!
The best way to kill a big ram is to DRAW THE TAG then hunt hard, hunt smart, get lucky!