Big battered horns

gznokes

Very Active Member
I was looking at the line up of rams that SWGO posted and thougth I'd ask a random question to some of you die hard sheep guys.

Have you noticed patterns in different sheep populations having more chipped and battered horns or is it just the type of thing that can happen occassionally to any ram--especially as they age?

For example, are there certain sheep units where it is more common to find rams with chipped and battered horns than others? Is it because of genetics, diet, terrain, # of other rams availble for competitive rutting?

To me it seems to happen more in desert sheep and Rocky/California BHS that live in desert climates. I don't seem to see it as much w dall or stones. I could be totally off.

Again, those are great sheep!

I'm not an expert by any means, but I believe that in some areas sinisitus in the rams can cause the horns to chip up excessively like you are describing. Definitely gives them some character.

I have wondered the same thing and have been hoping that southwestern, greatwestern, shadowhunter, zeke, or others with more expertise that me would chime in.
As a causal observer, it appears to be more prevalent in certain locations, like the deserts of California, but you can see chipped up old rams in lots of places. It would be my guess that many factors, including genetics, habitat, climate, age, health, etc. could all play a role. Disease, maybe, but from what I have read, sinusitis is often fatal in desert sheep, so I don't know about that either.
At any rate, I too would love to hear from some of the experts.

LAST EDITED ON Mar-08-12 AT 03:51PM (MST)[p]LOL... me? an expert? My only claim to fame is my love for wild sheep and the country they call home.