Best way to quick judge Antelope

• Thread starter mywifeishotterthentiffany
  • Start date
M

mywifeishotterthentiffany

I will be looking for a good goat on opening day. I know to look for tall tines, big base and good fronts but what forks best to judge them quickly. Any tricks or advice. Thanks

"Let's keep things in perspective.I mean for Peet's sake there are kids in Africa that don't even hunt....hello" Jimmy Big Time

If the horn Length is 17"+ & scores 80"+ go ahead & Shoot!

Or just enjoy the Hunt & forget about 'Inches'!
This Score/Inch sshit is gettin old!

I love not acting my age,
Damn I love my NASCAR race,
And Hell yes I love my Truck!

Being a contractor I am pretty good at reading a tape measure but I don't think I can get him to hold still while I measure 17 inches. Now if you are not tired of the is score/measure chit what is the best way to field judge a running antelope.

"Let's keep things in perspective.I mean for Peet's sake there are kids in Africa that don't even hunt....hello" Jimmy Big Time

I used to have a hard time judging antelope too. I bought a video from "Pronghorn Guide Service" that is strictly on how to field judge antelope it has really helped me alot there are a ton of things to look for but the main thing "quickest" way for me is to make sure the prong is above the ear better yet even a good 3 inches above the ear. Before I get to serious on setting the spotter up and really looking him over good. He has got to be at least to his ears, Then you can do a ton of other things if you can get front and side views of him. I have really gotten hooked on the pronghorn hunting its alot funner trying to hunt down a true monster rather than just dumping some random buck that looks okay. It always seems like you will see a buck that has one great characteristic but finding one with it all can be tough. Good luck

That sounds like good advice. Thanks