Best Utah Antelope Unit

D

Deadduck

I have been putting my daughter in for "points" the last 7 years. This year she should have enough to draw whatever she puts in for. My original plan was to go for Deseret CWMU, however, I have heard that they are limiting the areas that you can hunt, and that it isn't the same quality hunt as it once was.
What area would be your choice??? She wants to harvest an antelope that will beat the one I shot (78 b&c points).

Dead,

I absolutely would not put in for Deseret. I am not saying I am an expert, but I live in this area and personally, I don't think there are that many B&C bucks. Again, I am not saying this for fact, I am letting you know what I have seen in this area.

If you are looking for a lot of opportunities at bucks in the 15" range, put in for the Rich county unit. I am not sure of the hunt number but it is the unit North of the Monte highway.

My dad had this tag a year ago and we saw many decent size animals.

On any given day you will usually see 20-30 bucks. If you decide to put in for the Rich county unit, I will be happy to help you out. I know several BLM areas that don't see a lot of pressure. Sorry I couldn't help more.

I would absolutely put in for Deseret. This is a great hunt. There are tons of goats and there is no question she can shoot a nice goat. Will she shoot an 80"+ goat, I doubt it. But I don't know of any place in Utah where that is a guarantee. There are not tons of B&C goats in Utah that I know of. I believe she could shoot a 75"+ goat on Deseret with the chance at a bigger goat. If you have questions about what they will or won't let you do. Call Rick and ask him and you will know for sure.

DO NOT PUT IN FOR DESERET, THERE IS NO ANTELOPE AT ALL!!!! Thats why I am putting in for Deseret, and I only have 6 points.....Well, if you do, maybe I will see ya there!!!!