Best NR state overall

fuzzyvelvet

I am a Colorado resident and am looking to start applying to 1 other state other than Colorado. I am mostly interested in deer, elk, and antelope. Which other state gives me the best opportunities at the best bucks and bulls, for the shortest wait, and for the smallest investment. I know I am asking for a lot but since most states require you buy a hunting lisence to apply I figure I might as well do everything in the same state instead of spreading it all around. Thanks for the input.

Fuzzy

For monster bulls, the two states that currently stand out are Arizona and Utah. However, the wait is years long for the best rifle tags. If you bow hunt and choose units that are good but not the top, with mainly 300-340 bulls, you may be able to get a good tag in either state for 8-10 years of applying. Arizona sucks because you have to buy the $150 fee each year. Utah is nice, if I am not mistaken, because you can just pay the $10 fee to apply each year and build points. Utah is probably the cheapest route for elk, but is by no means the shortest wait.

That being said, don't overlook New Mexico because it is a straight draw and does have some great units, Wyoming has some great units and so does Nevada.

I mainly focus on elk, for deer I hear Arizona and Nevada are probably the best states. Wyoming has some great areas and may be easier to get a tag, not sure on New Mexico muleys...

They are all getting to be very similar. I would put a major consideration on how easy it will be for you to scout it once drawn and the type of country you want to be hunting.
Mntman

"Hunting is where you prove yourself"

LAST EDITED ON Jan-07-11 AT 10:10AM (MST)[p]I have been developing my 5 year NR plan also. I'm buying points in Wyoming for all 3 this year, applying for deer in New Mexico, applying for sheep in MT, getting a point for deer in CO and going elk hunting in CO.