Barnes Bullets- My Experience

woodruffhunter

Long Time Member
LAST EDITED ON Jul-26-11 AT 05:54PM (MST)[p]I wanted to post my experience with Barnes Bullets. Before I do, I would like to make a disclaimer:

1- I am not an expert with bullets
2- I am the last person to ask advice about bullets
3- Do not take this post as someone who actually knows what he is talking about.
4- Do not take this post as someone trying to discourage or encourage you to buy Barnes bullets.
5- I am only relating MY experience

I hope that covers it!

After a lot of of suggestions on what to take to Africa, as far as bullets go, I decided to go with Barnes VOR-TX, 180 grain polymer tipped. I would be using a 300 win mag.

All of the small game such as Steenbuck, Duiker, Impala, Blesbok, were pass throughs. This did not surprise me.

However, 2 of the 3 wart hogs killed, were pass throughs. The other bulllet was recovered. It showed little expansion. After speaking and emailing with Barnes, they concluded that the bullet did expand. However, since it was a copper cored bullet, and due to the high bullet velocity, the 4 expanded "mushroom" of the bullets broke off. So, I was told that it did indeed mushroom.

I shot a zebra with similiar reults. I was told this bullet mushroomed but the 4 expanded pieces broke off as well. Here is the recovered bullet. It was a front shoulder shot (zebra), about 175-200 yards:
8816mail.jpg

Many of the other similiar sized game were complete pass throughs. It surprised me that they were, but what would i know? The entry and exit wounds were very small.

The next two pics are from my eland. You can see that there was bullet failure on this animal. This is the ENTRY of the bullet.
8327eland_bullet.jpg

2012last_day_043.jpg

It was ackknowledged by Barnes that this bullet did not work correctly. It was a quartering away shot at about 200 yards.

In Barnes defense, they did communicate with me and tried to answer my concerns.