Archery In Wyoming

K

Kwnicholson

Hello,

I'm new to Wyoming hunting. I live in Northern Ca, and am trying to find good places to go hunting. 1 problem I face is this, October is out of the question due to potato harvest. I really want to hunt Deer and Antelope in Wyoming. I couldn't find any good information on bow hunting in Wyoming. Are there units that have both deer and antelope? Another option would be Nov hunts. Thanks a lot guys.

Here is where you can find the Deer & Antelope regs:
http://gf.state.wy.us/admin/Regs/index.asp

Bow hunting regs are in the lower right corner on page 2 of the link above. It costs an extra $30 for non-residents. Archery is also covered on pages 10 & 11 of the regulation book:
http://gf.state.wy.us/wildlife/hunting/NonResident/index.asp

I hunt both deer and antelope. In the area I hunt, I can bow hunt both deer & antelope during the first two weeks of September (which I don't because I don't like to sit water and it's hard to get an antelope with a bow otherwise). Or, I can hunt antelope with a gun and bow hunt deer in the last two weeks of September (much easier for me and I have a good chance of getting both). Or, I can gun hunt for both Deer and Antelope in the first 2 weeks of October (super easy if you're not picky, but a good challenge if you are looking for trophy bucks). There are a lot of units where you can do both, just study the regs at the link above.
Good luck,
Bob

Wow, thank you so much Bob. A real god send. I guess what I'll do this year, is buy preference points then. And aim for hunting rifle antelope next year, and bow deer.

There are antelope pretty much everywhere in the state so focus on where you want to deer hunt and then find out about the antelope numbers within the region. Good luck!

Steve
Derkha derkha Muhammed jihad hakha sherpha sherpha abakhala- Gary of Team America World Police