Archery Antelope Setup Questions

M

matt4695

This is my first year hunting Antelope with a bow. I've got some questions about setting up on water holes. I hunted three days this las week. We were on a pretty good spring. Had lots of goats try and come in, but we do not have a blind. I'm buying one. Of course the problem was trying to draw, the goats would cirle down wind before they came in. It seemed like they would wind us every time and stay out about 50 yards.

Here's my questions,
If I set up a blind on a water hole will the goats come in the first day or do they have to get used it?

Do the usually always cirle down wind?

We were hunting in a heavly pressured area, with blinds on alot of the water holes, from what I heard nobody had any luck the first week,,, could this be from the antelope being savy to the blinds on the waterholes?

Last question, we were hunting spring that ran about 200 yards, the goats wanted to come into a section of it, and thats where we were laying, if I set up a blind will the antelope head to the other end of the spring, or will the blind not bother them?

Thanks for any help. After the first three days im hooked, and am going to die trying to harvest an antelpe with my bow.

You would definitely be doing yourself a favor if you got a blind! With the amount of water in many areas this year, the antelope have a lot of options. I hunt an area with at least 4-5 stock ponds per sq mile. I set my blind up Thursday on one I had seen antelope using and sat it for the first time yesterday morning. Shot a buck at 10:30 am. I wasn't around to see if they came in the first day, but I wouldn't be surprised if they did!

Dont give antelope too much credit about circling downwind and/or noticing the blind.

The blind is great to provide shade:), conceal movement, reduce noise and scent and most importantly allows you to relax and not have to be constantly on guard.