Anyone running a Remington .300 Ultra Mag.

N

nocalhonker

Anyone running a Remington .300 Ultra Mag.

I just won a Winchester m70 .300WSM but had to trade it for a Remington CDL .300 RUM because I shoot left handed and couldn't get the 300WSM in a lefty. This gun will be for out of state maybe just elk as I have a Remington BDL 7mm. which I really like!! I use in in Ca. right now. Give me the good bad and ugly. Oh yea I hear it kicks and shells aren't cheap!! Nocalhonker

RE: Anyone running a Remington .300 Ultra Mag.

I have been shooting a 300RUM for about the last 11 years. Have no complaints at all. You have been informed correctly. It kicks hard and shells are expensive. But its worth it. I have a rem model 700 30-06 and a 7mm as well and the 300RUM is the most accurate and consistant of the three. I starting with 180 gr partitions, then switched to 180 gr Sciroccos about 5 years ago. I am looking at going to 200 gr. Accubonds. I use mine for all big game. It is the only gun I shoot. In the 11 years I have been using it I have taken 3 antelope, 6 Mule deer, 1 whitetail, 5 elk, 3 black bears, 1 shiras moose. Wyoming is an awesome state. I am headed to Alaska this fall for moose and griz. That's the reason for looking into the 200 gr. bullet. It is a lot of gun for antelope and whitetails but I like to have one gun that I can use for everything. Good luck with your new gun and good huntin to you.