Another B zone question

Califelkslayer

Long Time Member
My wife and I each have a B zone tag, maybe 2 each if our X zone doesn't come through. Anyways since we struck out in every other state I want to take her on a "High Country" hunt this year. So I was thinking the horses in the Alps. I've never done this hunt before so I'm looking for advice. She'll be happy with any buck but i would like to get her into some country that isn't crowded.

Any advice would be appreciated.

There is a TON of great country in the Alps and you should be able to find some loneliness and a few bucks to kill.

I have only hunted in there a few times around the Cecilville area and Forks of the Salmon area.

Bill

Look out Forkie, FTW is watching us!

I had planned a pack trip into the Rubys in August. Just to relax, glass bucks and get the horses in shape. I changed my mind, we're gonna do the Alps. Hopefully this will give me some ideas.

Thanks for the replies and PMs.

There ya go, I have hunted in from 5 dollar camp towards Mary Blaine Meadows but I think it gets a lot of pressure early in the season so if a guy scouts there you should know that there will be camps of hunters in there on the opener, and they will often mistakenly camp on top of the deer thereby running them out for a while.

Bill

I was planning on hunting the first 4-5 days because I understood a little cold snap and the deer would bail for lower ground??? Is this true because I have the entire month of October off and nothing planned huntin wise until the second Saturday (Nevada chukar opener)