Air Bags? 84 GMC

sageadvice

Long Time Member
My question is similar to Mtmuleys but i need to bring the back end of my 2500 series GMC service truck up to level. Being a plumber, i keep full trays of black, galvi, and copper fittings, and also full trays of the different sized nipples. i also carry a full sized pipe threading machine(heavy) and the hand tools for the same job, plus several hundred pounds of different kinds of pipe in the bed and on the rack, about all that i would need to do a basic service call to most any home...lots of weight that has the back end of my nice rig drooping maybe 3".

I've heard that there are places that can swap out leaf springs with a higher arched set and i've been told that air bags would also do the trick. Even with all the weight i'm toting around, i don't really notice the weight on the rig other than the rearward rake.

What would be the best way, and most cost effective other than carry less weight :), to remedy the rake situation? Opinions on Air bags also welcome! Thanks!!

Joey

Air Bags all the way!
I was busting the springs right off the Belcher after we put the service bed on it & loaded her down,she averages 11,000-12,000 depending on what I've got throwed in the back,not bad for a single rear wheeled rig.
One of the first/best things I did to it.
Problem with these rigs is they just keep getting heavier,a guy just keeps putting more BS in them on a daily basis,mine won't hold any more,If I put something in somethings comming out (or it won't fit),usually just temporary though,then I put it back in.
I'd lots rather have a Dually again but I sure don't miss dealing with the Fricken DOT now!

Joey, + 1 on the Air Bags. That is really the only right way to address your issues.

Another option if you are on a budget would be Timbren Bump Stops. They run about half of what a set of Air Bags will cost you and do the same basic job.