Advice on the Wasatch Front

D

d0c

Hello all!
I've been following the forums here for a couple of years now, and I must say I am impressed with the knowledge and diversity found amongst it's members. Anytime I have a question, I figure it has been asked before so I come and search the active and/or archived posts. Usually it brings much success, but I'm hoping to find a little more specific advice relevant to our current hunting conditions.

I'm relatively new to the pursuit of elk, this being my third year, due to other priorities (i.e. school and starting a family) and now I am at a point where I can do a little hunting for myself...finally! I've been up one of our lovely canyons along the Wasatch Front these last two weeks with an archery elk tag, looking for anything but a cow...and by looking I mean I'd be thrilled just to see a bull at this point in the hunt.

I have made a lot of observations, read many posts, and was hoping to discuss some things to guide me on my next several attempts.

Should I still focus during the daytime hours on north slopes in the dark pines? Will elk generally feed low in the night (8000-8500ft) and move back high up in the morning (10000ft)? It is very dry up there. I've been hard pressed to find water above 9000ft aside from established lakes. What have been gentle streams or wallows this time last year are now completely dry. The brush/grasses on most south/west facing slopes also seems to be very crisp. Yesterday I hiked 2-3 hours in and saw 3 bull moose, 2 cow moose, and 1 calf hiking to and past a pond ~8500ft. I also saw 8 deer, but no elk. Would the elk drink from one of the lakes where hikers or mountain bikers tend to travel to? Moose are fearless...but elk seem to be more weary to me.

Some people have said that due to the pressure of these past years, the bulls up on the front have gone quiet and nocturnal. Is that consistent with what you guys have been experiencing? If so, how do you recommend countering this?