338 Lapua Question

sniper14

I just got a 338 Lapua. I was going to use H1000 powder to reload with. I was just wondering how many grains to start with. I'm new to long range shooting, so I was just looking for some ideas of where to start.

From the sounds of your post, you need to do a bunch of learning before you start to handload that thing. After deciding on a bullet, get the manufacturer's manual or search their website for load data for powders that are compatible. Read it all, then read it again. You're a long way from long range. mtmuley

Talk to REDDOG here at MM!

Do you have a Powder Tamper?

With REDDOGS Reloads You'll need a Powder Tamper!

[font color="red"]From My Smokin Cherry Red Hot Barrel & My Dead Cold Hands I Shall go down Fighting for American Pride & Rights!
I Know I'm Out Numbered by Pusssies & Brainwashed Democrats that'll Throw Their Hands in the air & I know I can't Lick the U.S. Military by Myself when they Turn on us but I'll make
you one Guarantee,They'll be Enduring a Situation where I Hope to Hell All Americans become True Americans once again & Stand up for their Rights!

LAST EDITED ON Feb-17-14 AT 07:56PM (MST)[p]LAST EDITED ON Feb-17-14 AT 07:25?PM (MST)

Ya it does kinda sound like you're a newbie despite your name but I'll give you what I have. I have a wide assortment of .338s including a few Lapuas. I use to shoot 300gr Sierra MKs in my Lapuas and switched to 300 Berger OTMT because of the better BC. In all of my .338 Lapuas with both style 300 gr bullets I started at 87grs of H1000 (.025 off the lands) and worked up to and settled on 91 grs with all of them. They all liked that load. I get between 2760 and 2825 fps with this load depending on whether I'm using Nosler or Lapua brass.
You might want to try Retumbo too. RL19 gave me tighter ESs but I shot better groups with H1000 for some reason. RL19 is also a "yer mom" powder...pretty dirty.