270 weatherby mag elk/distance gun?

J

jbear

Will the 270 weatherby mag be an effective elk gun at longer distaces 700-800 yards if loaded properly? I know members will bring up the 7mm mag or 30 calibers as better calibers. The ballistic are very similar to the 7mm mag from what I can tell but I am no expert. Something keeps drawing me back to this caliber. I also no ammo is expensive!!!

Will it be effective at 700-800 yards? yes it will only if you are proficient enough to put a well constructed bullet into the vitals at that range.

I would consider using the Nosler Partition bullet as the front part will still expand at the lower velocity you will incounter at that range, and the protected rear half will stay together to punch though bone at shorter ranges or distance.
Some of the other "tougher constructed" bullets have a tendency not to expand very much at a severe decrease in velocity at longer ranges.

RELH

Any bullet begins to tumble as its velocity drops below the speed of sound. I'm not sure what velocity you think you will get with your 270 Weatherby, but most bullets will be down around the speed of sound at somewhere near 700 yards. Obviously this depends upon ballistic coefficient, bullet weight and initial velocity. Once the bullet starts to tumble, groups are measured in multiple feet, not inches, and bullet construction matters little as you can't count on frontal impact.
All long range guns suffer from this limitation. The main reason people typically use a minimum of .30 cal bullets is to keep the projectile above the speed of sound at greater distance. As you drop the caliber, and hence bullet weight, velocity at long range drops quickly. This is why the .50 BMG is so effective at incredible range - it is still above the speed of sound at well over 1000 yards.