264 winchester magnum

W

whata (Guest)

What do you guys think about this caliber? I seen a couple guys take some nice bulls with it but I cant find too much info on this caliber.

Theres not much info. As far as i know , theres only 2 factory loads out there. The remington loads do well with my mod 70 win. Did good on deer and elk, but some bullet fragment at closer ranges on deer.

Duplicates a 270, except it uses a 26" barrel, a lot more powder, significant more recoil and more muzzle blast. Uses the same case as a 7mmRmag, 338Wmag and 300Wmag, just necked down.

from the "Heartland of Wyoming"

I just killed a cow elk with my friends 264wm cow was 100yds away and did the trick it sure does make a lot of noise I would be interested in buying one for my self but he handloads his own ammo says its the best way in achiving maxium for this caliber.

I love this caliber I started shooting this caliber about 5 years ago and just love it I feel it one of those caliber that you either love it our hate it. I killed my first Antelope with it this year shot one at 370yds. curently hunting for Cow Elk in unit 82. With this caliber its better to handload you get better potential out of it because remington is the only one that loads this round and its ok but I load 140gr interlocks ahead of 60.5 grains of MAG-PRO and it sure nailes the coffin on anything from Antelpoe to Elk. so enjoy

It's a great cartridge, just a slight step down from the 7mm Rem. Mag. Just be sure you've got at least a 26 inch barrel, otherwise you might as well be shooting a 270. Also as others have said, you really need to handload for the 264 also, as there aren't many factory loads available, and what there is, is expensive. Really you'd probably be better off with the 7 Mag. just because of the availability of factory ammo, unless you just like having something different than everybody else, which isn't a bad thing either. Let us know what you decide.