2009 Shiras Moose Deseret Land and Livestock State Draw

H

Huntintoo

4aaefc3a7f2f1ecd.jpg

I had been putting in for Moose for a few years and was gaining points for the Ogden drainage. Then I saw him a Bull Moose that rivaled anything I had ever seen in Utah. I began applying for the tag on Deseret Land and Livestock. 13 years later I was ecstatic when I drew out for this tag. Though it is a state tag the Landowners permits sell for $11,500.00. My State price $408.00 for this "ONCE-IN-A-LIFETIME" tag. Like their CWMU (Cooperative Wildlife Management Unit) bull elk tags the Moose tag is a Guided and Logged Hunt. I was put in the PECK room with my guide. Day one, we went to see several areas on the 290,000 acre ranch and looked at a bunch of Bull Moose, several large deer and a bunch of trophy elk. I told my Guide that I had already named my moose Mickey for Mickey Moose. As we looked at each bull I would ask, "Is that Mickey?" We would both say, "That's not Mickey!" Though one was about a 140 inch bull, we called him a Friday bull, meaning we would come back Friday if there was not a bigger bull seen through the week. We saw 7 different bulls that night. The next morning we were back at it and saw several more Bulls, On the way back to the lodge for lunch I realized that I had seen 9 bulls and 3or 4 cows that morning. Wow, what a selection! I asked if we could go to that area where I had seen the largest bull I had ever seen 13 years earlier. The guide obliged and took me there. We watched the water hole for about 40 minutes realizing it was hot and the Big Black moose would wait to come out of the trees until just before dark or just after dark. We looked it up and found that shooting time was over at 08:28pm. We went to the area at about 07:00 and played the waiting game. As we watched the pond we decided to Range how far away it was. 741 yards. I was not comfortable with that distance as I had only shot out to 300 yards with my .375 Ruger and the 270 grain Barn